Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Creating or Editing Users

Our websites have five levels of access available for users: Administrator, Editor, Author, Contributor, and Subscriber.

In this article, you’ll learn the differences between user levels and how to grant and revoke account access.

User Levels

  • Administrator
    The Administrator can perform all actions in the account. This includes inviting new users, creating and editing Post, Pages, and Menus. Administrators can also manage Theme Settings that control default website settings.
  • Editor
    The Editor can create and edit Posts, Media, Pages and Comments.
  • Author
    An Author can create and edit Posts and Media but cannot publish these to the site until they have passed a review process by an Editor or Administrator.
  • Contributor
    Contributors can create and edit Posts but cannot publish these to the site until they have passed a review process by an Editor or Administrator.
  • Subscribers
    As a rule we do not use Subscribers in our builds unless required. If they are required we will explain how these users are created and edited.

Create a User

To create a User you must be an Administrator to follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Users page to the left of your Dashboard.
  2. Click the Add New button.
  3. On the next screen you will be able to enter the user’s details in the listed fields. You can also choose the user level.
    Add New User
  4. To create an avatar image for the user ask them to upload an image via Gravatar.
  5. When you’ve finished, click Add New User.

Edit or Delete a User

To edit a User you must be an Administrator to follow these steps.

  1. Navigate to the Users page to the left of your Dashboard.
  2. If you have created Users already you will be presented with a list of these.
  3. Hover over the Username of the person you wish to edit and you will be presented with a set of links:
    Edit WordPress User
    a. Edit – click to edit
    b. Delete – click to delete
  4. When you’ve finished editing a user, click Update User.

Removing Account Access

Administrators can also revoke access to users at any time. When a User is deleted from an account, they will no longer have access to the site. When deleting a User you will be prompted to transfer ownership of the user’s content to another user on the account.

Still stuck?
Talk it through with Seb

Seb Kay FHOKE

WordPress Knowledge Base

Let us guide the way

Frequent WordPress questions, answered quickly.